Meghalaya-Folk-DanceGeneral Information :

Capital : Shillong
Area : 22.00
Population : 23
Principal Languages : Khasi, Garo and English

One of the North Eastern states of India, Meghalaya is a sylvan beauty of breathtaking beauty. Meghalaya literally means “Abode (alaya) of the Clouds (megha)“. The name describes the climatic phenomenon that brings torrents of rain in this region. Meghalaya is a region of great scenic beauty : a panorama of lush, undulating hills, fertile valleys, waterfalls, sparkling mountain streams and lakes.

It was declared the 21st State of India on 21st January 1972. it united the areas of the Khasi, Jaintia and Garo Hills. With an approximate area of 22, 429 square kilometers Meghalaya is bounded by Assam in the North and the East, and the plains of Bangladesh in the South and West. The capital is the hill town of Shillong. The State is divided into three hilly regions—the Garo Hills (Western Meghalaya), the Khasi Hills (Central Meghalaya), and the Jaintia Hills (Eastern Meghalaya).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *